• Shameless Self-Promotion:

    Check out The Cinnamon Quill, where I blog about gluten-free baking.







Day 3: Soup in Summer

Today was a typically mismatched food day, let’s take a look:

After some juice and a small piece of bread (not pictured), I set out on one of my treadmill hill workouts (Set the treadmill to its highest incline, crank the speed up to 3.5-4.5, and go. For 45 minutes.). Then, for my recovery, I had an early lunch snack of this bread + a Green Monster.

breaky
Y
Now, if you aren’t familiar with ‘Green Monsters’, that frothy green beaker of a smoothie might be a little hard on your eyes (or beautiful, depending how you feel about the color green). It’s a powerhouse drink and a lovely way to fit a salad into a picky palate. And no, you absolutely cannot taste the spinach. I’ve tested this.

GF Everyday’s Green Monster

1-1 1/2 cups spinach
1/4-1/2 cup ice cubes
1/4-1/2 cup orange juice or coconut milk
1/2-1 cup water
1/2 banana

Process in blender until perfectly smooth.

As for the bread, it has a winning flavor, and is packed with oats, millet, flax, and sunflower seeds. I changed the recipe a bit, which made it crumbly, but that’s my fault. So, just follow the original recipe (which isn’t possible for me, apparently); It is definitely the best tasting GF bread I’ve had yet. It tastes like a good bakery-style honey-wheat bread. And it’s one of the healthiest GF breads I’ve com across.

Lunch

salad

More spinach? More bread? Some days, I just go with it, even if I eat the same thing for three meals in a row. Really though, why not? So, above we have a chopped spinach salad with provolone, that bread, roasted tomatoes, and olivada (recipes for the last two are coming soon). Nice, light, flavorful.

vegsoup

But then I had a second lunch, because I’m not one to be filled up by salads. This recipe originates from Jack Bishop’s “A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen”. Basically it’s a vegetable soup; this one had canellinni beans, onion, carrots, celery, tomatoes, a small potato, garlic, vegetable broth, and lots of rosemary. And I make it in about 30 minutes total. I often keep servings in the freezer because it is a nice accompaniment to sandwiches or other small meals that fall into the that-doesn’t-fill-me-up category.

brownies1

A little afternoon pick-me-up in the form of a Katharine Hepburn brownie. I followed the recipe exactly, but added 3 additional tablespoons of flour. I used a slightly modified Bette Hagman’s Featherlight Flour Blend (1 cup brown rice flour, 1 cup corn starch, 1 cup tapioca starch, 3 tablespoons potato flour), and also skipped the cinnamon. Perfect, if you like super-fudge-like brownies (which I like very much).

Dinner, and can you believe it?

chowder1

Even more soup! And did I mention it’s summer? This is from a simple potato soup recipe, dressed up with a little sweet-loving corn, and thyme action. A surprisingly nice dinner, made with farmer’s market potatoes.

GF Everyday’s Essential Potato Soup

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 onion, chopped
3-5 small celery stalks, chopped
2 garlic cloves
5 small potatoes, peeled, chopped (russets work best here)
1/2 cup baby carrots (yellow is best for color), sliced
3-4 cups of water/broth
1 tsp: sage, rosemarry, celery, pepper, salt
1 T dried tarragon
1/3-1/2 c half half
Butter, for finishing
Fresh sweet corn (optional)
Cheese of choice (optional)

Saute vegetables in oil, then add water/broth and spices, to taste. Bring to a boil and cover, simmering 20-30 minutes, until vegetables are soft. Mash potatoes and vegetables slightly with whisk/potato masher. If you’d prefer a bisque, blend with a hand blender. Add half and half and return to heat, to warm. Serve with a dollop of butter, freshly ground white pepper and garnish the tops with more tarragon (!), corn, cheese, or thyme.

That’s all the soup and salad action for today. Tune in tomorrow for more of the same, and maybe even something different!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.