• Shameless Self-Promotion:

    Check out The Cinnamon Quill, where I blog about gluten-free baking.







Day 4: Soup and Bread (Again)

I made graham cracker dough the night before, so first thing this morning the rolling pin hit the counter. The dough is derived from Rebecca Reilly’s recipe for graham crackers. I’ve made some changes, and will be posting at The Cinnamon Quill soon. But, I made a bunch of cookies (er, crackers), a pie crust, and this little apricot tart for somebody’s breakfast:

apricot

I’d give you the recipe, but really? It wasn’t such a big hit. I pressed the crust into a small springform pan, then whipped together a tablespoon of butter, 1/4 cup cream cheese, 1 egg yolk, and 1/4 cup-ish of sugar. I then placed the apricots on top, sprinkled with sugar, and drizzled the top with honey. Then I baked it (30 minutes or so?) until it was set. It certainly wasn’t bad, just not something I’ll make again. A great way to use up a couple of ripe apricots though.

Then came some more morning goodness, for me:

breaky2

Some graham crackers (a little peanut butter), and a glass of diluted orange-mango juice. I always dilute fruit juice, as I find it much too sweet to drink straight.

I got to using up that zucchini by making a big batch of soup to freeze. Oh, and to eat for lunch.

lunchsoup

Farmer’s Market Zucchini Soup

Adapted from here, by GF Everyday

1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, chopped
4 cups zucchini, chopped
1/4 cup split peas
3+ cups vegetable broth
Herbs and spices of your choice (I used rosemary, thyme, tarragon, sage, white pepper, ground celery)
Half and Half
salt and pepper, to taste

Saute vegetables in olive oil for about 5 minutes, until flavors start to blend. Add the split peas, broth, and herbs (to taste). Bring to a boil, cover loosely, then simmer, about 30+ minutes, until vegetables are cooked, and split peas are soft. Remove from heat and use a stick blender to puree. Add 1/4-1/2 cup of half and half, if desired. Reheat, and serve.

Because I froze most of it, I didn’t add the half and half. I’ll add it when I actually use the soup, some time down the road. I garnished it with some grated carrot and thyme, because I can’t get enough thyme lately.

Snack!

granola

Since we were headed to the gym, I needed a wholesome snack. I’ll call this “Raw Gran-Oatmeal”. Basically, I soaked 1-2 tablespoons each of pepitas, raisins, a dried fig, flaked dried coconut, almonds, and 1/4 cup of oatmeal in water, overnight (in the refrigerator). I removed it and pulsed it in the food processor to granola consistency, and ate it. I thought I’d eat it with coconut milk, but it ended up being very heavy. It’s an interesting idea, but this was a bit heavy for me. It has potential, but I haven’t figured it out yet.

Dinner

bread1
Savory Caprese bread pudding, sauteed mushrooms, simple tomato sauce, and Parmesan fries.

This was incredibly simple, and satisfying. I used up a loaf of Bette Hagman’s yeast-free zucchini cheese bread that I had in my freezer. It was a decent quick bread, but a little heavy on the baking soda taste for my palate. I froze it (well, about two-thirds of it), and saved it for a rainy day. Or, a day I wanted to make bread pudding. There wasn’t exactly a recipe for the bread pudding; I just gained inspiration from here and here, and worked with what I had.

GF Everyday Savory Bread Pudding

2/3 loaf of bread (8-10 slices?)
6 oz Mozzarella cheese, thinly sliced or grated
2-3 eggs
1-2 cups half and half or whole milk
2+ fresh tomatoes, sliced
Reserved breadcrumbs for top
Fresh basil
Dried oregano

This isn’t much of a recipe, as I just used what I had. Butter an 8×8 glass pan, layer the bread slices, cheese, and tomatoes. I repeated this twice. I then mixed the egg and half and half together, and poured over the lot until it was all moistened. You may need more egg/cream, depending on the bread you are using. Let stand for 5 minutes, to let the bread absorb the liquid, and to let the flavors to blend. I topped it with breadcrumbs, basil, and oregano, covered, and baked at 375 for 30ish minutes, until it was set.

The fries are perfect (I take no credit), and the recipe is available here. They have been made again and again in this house.

The tomato sauce was just a 15 minute tomato puree seasoned with some basil, oregano, garlic, lemon, agave, and a few other spices. And, the mushrooms were just sauteed in a little olive oil, along with a splash of white wine (I guess red would have been better), and a little more thyme. A theme, apparently.

bread2

One Response

  1. […] Small pizzas with dough I had in the freezer. A month or so ago, I made pizza but froze the small amount of dough I had left. I thawed it overnight in the refrigerator, then used it as if it were fresh. It worked well, but it definitely had a sourdough flavor! I’ll have to experiment. Recipe on its way…soon! For the sauce I used my super simple sauce, described here. […]

Leave a Reply

