• Shameless Self-Promotion:

    Check out The Cinnamon Quill, where I blog about gluten-free baking.







Day 6: Precursor to a Sick Day(s)

I wasn’t feeling too well, so my appetite was a bit random, to say the least. Here are the highlights, though. Remember that chia cereal? Well, here it is:

cccchhhhia

I mixed it with water this time, and I noticed a discrepancy on the package as it says to add 4 tablespoons (1/3 cup) of liquid, but 4 tablespoons is only 1/4 cup. So, I tried 2 tablespoons of chia with 4 tablespoons of water, and it gelled nicely. It looks like potting soil. I was surprised at how sweet this flavor was, but I wouldn’t want to eat a bowl of chia seeds on their own. It is definitely a “health food” type item. If you like whole grains, grassy flavors, and little seeds, this is for you. I am totally granola that way, so I love this stuff.

Next up was a bran muffin-top:

branmuf

I essentially used this recipe, though I don’t have formal numbers as I literally threw in what I had on hand. I used rice bran for the wheat bran, cottage cheese in place of the Greek yogurt, added 3/4 cup shredded zucchini and raisins. I’ll have to perfect these, but check out the recipe, I’ve made it a couple times now, but I have yet to solidify a variation. I also halved the recipe. Another health-foodie item, but I used to love bran muffins.

grahamsnack

A graham cracker + chocolate chip bowl. How nice! There were countless (literally) other snacks today, but I soon found out that apparently my appetite spikes wildly right before I get sick. Not a bad plan, I suppose.

Lunch

milsalad

Leftover millet salad, with last night’s millet, over a little spinach, a bunch of shredded zucchini, with a few black olives and green onions on top. The zucchini and millet went well together, almost taste tabbouleh-ish.

salsa

A quick walk to the store yielded a few packages of this salsa as it had a short date and was on sale for $1! But really, this salsa is arguably the best grocery store salsa one can buy. Plus, it deserves bonus points since it says “GF” right on the package. The mild is good, but the medium is probably my favorite. A little spicy for some though, so I stuck with the mild.

Dinner

Uncooked rice pasta

Uncooked rice pasta



I wasn’t feeling the regular dinner, so I cooked up the last of this fancy-pants rice pasta. Though it was $7 for the bag, it has lasted for four meals. It looks like frills or lace, I bought it because it was beautiful (oh yeah, and GF).

sickpasta

And then I ate some of it, and got to sleep as quickly as I could.

sickpasata

What does a GF sick day look like? Stay tuned.

One Response

  1. […] chia cereal, a few ‘Thin Mints’, and some almonds. What a whimsical little mix, but I ate what I […]

Leave a Reply

