• Shameless Self-Promotion:

    Check out The Cinnamon Quill, where I blog about gluten-free baking.







Day 10: Dairy-Free Specialties + More

Today was a fun food day:

funnybreak

A fun little breakfast

The pancakes are made from this recipe at Healthy Indulgences. I won’t post the recipe, but here are the ingredients, with the changes I made:

5-6 tablespoons So Delicious coconut milk
1 large egg
1/4 cup GF oat flour
2 tablespoons coconut flour
1/4 teaspoon aluminum-free baking powder
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
pinch salt
2-4 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons canola oil

It made about 10 little pancakes. I’ve been searching for a good pancake recipe that isn’t all starch, and this is definitely a start. I loved them. I know these won’t work for folks who aren’t used to a slight “whole grain” taste, but certainly an incredible recipe. I’m toying with adding a bit of tapioca starch and more liquid, to lighten them up a bit. I’m no expert, but let’s just say I plan to become one, with the amounts of these I see in my consumption future.

The ‘sausage’ was made from leftover vegetable-burgers we had some time ago. Here is the recipe, from VegNews. I essentially followed the recipe, but used oat flour for all-purpose flour, and pulverized everything in the food processor. One issue: even after several minutes of cooking, these were soft and uncooked in the centers. I remedied this by microwaving them for 1-2 minutes, prior to browning in the skillet. If I wouldn’t have been rushed I would try baking them at 350F for 15-20 minutes to dry them out before trying to cook them in a skillet. Next time, I might -acutally- follow the directions and leave the tempeh in larger pieces. Very simple. For breakfast I cooked one with a bit of sage and fennel. Again, check out the recipe for directions, but here are the ingredients:

-all-soy tempeh
-onion
-mushrooms
-balsamic vinegar
-spices
-garlic
-tamari
-GF oat flour.

And I had a side of potatoes cooked with a bit of sage. A funny, but delightful little breakfast!

Moving on…

kombu1

I had the lost dose of my ‘medicine’, AKA kombucha.

Lunch:

cheeze2

Yes, that is a bowl of queso; such a perfect lunch! Wait though, it’s dairy-free. And it’s made with coconut milk. And cashews. And you should make it; here’s how. I halved the recipe, and made a few slight changes. Here is the list of ingredients I used to make Dreena Burton’s Vegveeta Cheese Dip:

1/4 cup raw cashews
1/2 tablespoon coconut oil (or use butter if you aren’t dairy-free)
3/4 tablespoons lemon juice
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup + 1-2 tablespoons So Delicious coconut milk (I’d like to try hemp milk)
3/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 tablespoon arrowroot powder
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon turmeric (for color)
(I skipped the mustard and used more spices than suggested)
1/2 tablespoons canola oil
3 tablespoons nutritional yeast
1/2 cup salsa, mixed in after finished cooking

Really, make this. It doesn’t -exactly- taste like cheese, but it is definitely competitive. I think it makes a wonderful base for other sauces/dips as well. Expect experimentation!

I’ll leave you with this thought, on that note:

cheeze1


Snack-time Strikes:

sserve

Yet another dairy-free treat: banana soft-serve ice cream. No ice cream maker involved. No sugar. One ingredient bliss. Choosing Raw’s Raw Banana Soft-Serve Ice Cream.

I doubt she’ll mind if I share this ‘recipe’ with you: break a banana (or two, or three, to be on the safe side) in a few pieces, then freeze until solid. Place frozen banana pieces in food processor, and process for 1-5 minutes, until completely smooth. It only takes about 1.5 minutes in my food processor to achieve the right consistency. Serve immediately, and be ready to surrender any skepticism. Zoom-in time:

ss2

If you’d like chocolate, add 1/2-1 tablespoon (probably more; taste it) cocoa powder before processing.

Time to make dessert! When it comes to making dessert, it definitely comes first, before dinner…

tira1

Thanks to the already-made lady fingers, I was able to put this tiramisu together very quickly. I used a recipe from Cook’s Illustrated, but only made 1/3 of what the recipe made. Next time, I think I’ll make a recipe that only uses whipped cream and mascarpone, without the egg custard. This was good though, really, no complaints.

Dinner

Mediterranean Vegetable Pie

Mediterranean Vegetable Pie

I’m actually leaving you with an old dinner, as I ended up not feeling too well, and just snacked on remnants that weren’t worth photo-ing. This ‘Mediterranean Pie’ was inspired by this site. Check out her breathtaking photos. I used about half of the vegetables she suggested and placed them in a GF pizza crust I made (recipe almost perfected!). I loved the way it turned out. I actually made 3 small ones because I was worried that it might not cook very well if I made a giant one. Served with a small salad, it was perfectly satisfying! A new favorite, and a superb way to use up all kinds of vegetables.

Leave a Reply

