• Shameless Self-Promotion:

    Check out The Cinnamon Quill, where I blog about gluten-free baking.







Day 13: Flourless Pizza and Pie

Zucchini bread for breakfast

day13zuc

I don’t exactly have a recipe for this. Remember that zucchini? Well, I’m still using the ever-dwindling remnants! Undoubtedly, that two dollars’ worth of zucchini was one of the best purchases I’ve ever made. Anyway, I was inspired by Smitten’s banana bread recipe, and essentially made it but used 1 1/2 cups of zucchini for the banana. I also added 1.5 tablespoons of oil on top of the butter. The flavor is good, but it is kind of a hard texture. It isn’t exactly dry, but it’s not cake-like. I’ve had plenty of quick-breads like this, but I always tend to make them on the cake side (not that I’m committed to such, but it’s certainly what I’m used to). I think the issue was that I added too much flour. I followed the directions but added about a half cup extra flour. Next time, I won’t do that! I am still on the prowl for a good zucchini bread recipe though. Heidi puts curry powder in her zucchini bread! Something to consider, for sure.

Lunch

day13lun1

Lunch was a simple, makeshift taco ‘salad’ made from yesterday’s leftovers. It included beans, peas, fresh corn, spinach, a bit of cheese, cottage cheese, and salsa. Plus, a few chips for good measure. Surprisingly filling!

Old News

day13pie

I forgot to post a photo of the pie I made a few days ago. I will be featuring the graham cracker crust on The Cinnamon Quill soon, but for now you have a slightly out of focus picture of a coconut cream pie. It’s been good for snacks and, of course, dessert.

Dinner

day13piz2
Small pizzas with dough I had in the freezer. A month or so ago, I made pizza but froze the small amount of dough I had left. I thawed it overnight in the refrigerator, then used it as if it were fresh. It worked well, but it definitely had a sourdough flavor! I’ll have to experiment. Recipe on its way…soon! For the sauce I used my super simple sauce, described here.

Annnnnd now, flourless pizza crust?!

day13piz

So when I read about this -flourless- pizza crust, I knew I’d be making it very soon. The recipe comes from this post at Gluten-Free Easily. My pictures don’t show just how revolutionary this crust is, check out the original post at Gluten-Free Easily as it shows the whole recipe, step by step. I’ll give you the ingredients though:

  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella
  • 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan (I used Asiago)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning (I just used basil)

And there you have it, FLOURLESS pizza crust…

day13piz3

The verdict?

Now, I have a pizza crust recipe that I’m kind of attached to; however, this was just plain cool. It is ultra-rich (Ever been filled up by two pieces of pizza before? Me neither, but wait till you try this!), and amazingly unique. I’ve got a bunch of ideas about using this crust, but those will be shared tomorrow…!

One Response

  1. […] mediocre zucchini bread from yesterday. Maybe the remainder of this loaf will be made into bread […]

Leave a Reply

