• Shameless Self-Promotion:

    Check out The Cinnamon Quill, where I blog about gluten-free baking.







Day 15: Pie.

Apparently, a vicious theme has erupted in our house: pie.

More on that, later.

Breakfast:

day15brek

Yes, more breakfast cookies, too. Themes abound. But after an early morning grocery run, where I saw these (‘Erin’s Breakfast Cookies’, essentially a big oatmeal based ‘health’ cookie.) I realized that I must come home and whip up another batch.

Again, this is just a play on the ‘classic’ peanut butter cookie recipe of 1 cup peanut butter/1 cup sugar/1 egg, with a few variations. I’ve been doing half batches as well…And cutting down the sugar immensely. These were composed of the following:

  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 2 tablespoons GF oat flour
  • 2 tablespooons rice bran
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • pinch salt + baking soda
  • 1 egg

For other appearances of these cookies, check here and here. I didn’t like today’s trial very well, as the coconut flour seemed overpowering.

Post-Breakfast Hunger:

day15sna

More chia cereal, a few ‘Thin Mints’, and some almonds. What a whimsical little mix, but I ate what I was craving, which isn’t always, conventional, to say the least.

Lunch:

day15dal

Red lentil dal, English muffin ‘naan’, and red quinoa.

The dal comes from Jack Bishop’s ‘A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen’. Because I’ve changed the recipe a bit, I’ll post it below. The original is available here, on Google Books. Dal’s are great because you can make a big batch in a relatively short amount of time, they can be eaten a multitude of ways, and freeze well.

Red Lentil Dal (Derived from Jack Bishop)

  • 1 1/4 cups red lentils, rinsed
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2-3 garlic cloves
  • 1 teaspoon mustard seeds
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon garam masala
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro (optional)
  • Boil together the lentils, water, and turmeric. Once boiling, lower heat, cover, and simmer about 30 minutes, until lentils have fallen apart. Stir a few times to ensure that lentils don’t burn. In a skillet or small pan, heat canola oil and butter. Add spices and garlic and cook until mustard and cumin seeds pop, 1-2 minutes. Stir the spice mixture into the lentils, tasting and adjusting salt/spices as needed. Garnish with cilantro, if desired.

    This dal is great along with tortillas, bread/rolls, rice or any grain, with potato, cauliflower, peas, and green beans. It is super versatile.

    Once I tried red quinoa, I knew there was no going back. If you haven’t been thrilled with quinoa, the red is definitely worth a try. There is no bitter taste. Even after rinsing, I find that ivory quinoa still has a slight bitterness to it, but not this red.

    Farmer’s Market Loot:

    day15market

    Not much, but the first heirloom tomatoes of the year! Plus, more beloved zucchini, and some free-range eggs.

    High time for pie…

    day15bbpie

    I used this crust recipe, and made a vegetable pot pie, and the humble blueberry pie above. I really stretched the crust and got a double 9-inch crust, a double 6-inch crust, a double 4 inch crust, and a single 4 inch crust. I don’t recommend cutting it so close, but for whatever reason it worked. I usually get at least 1.5 times the yield from pie crust recipes. Perhaps I roll the dough too thin?

    Anyway, this was just a little blueberry pie to use up three-quarters of a pint of blueberries. It was pretty off-the-top of my head, based on other fruit pies I’ve made….three-quarters’ pint of blueberries, 3 tablespoons lemon juice, 2 tablespoons corn starch, 1/4-ish cup sugar, and a tablespoon or so of butter. It worked well!

    day15din

    Vegetable ‘pot pie’, which I’ve been making for the past couple of years, without changing much. Interested in the recipe? I’ll post it tomorrow…but it is definitely worth it, and surprisingly simple. Let’s face it, this pie is essentially a ‘casserole’, and accordingly simple. Plus, even though it’s encased in a buttery crust, it is full of vegetables. And a small salad on the side nicely rounds out the meal.

    Don't forget the birdy!

    Don't forget the bird!

    At the bottom of my handwritten pie recipe, I wrote ‘Don’t forget the bird!’, which baffled me as I read it…And then I remembered the pie bird. Whew.

One Response

  1. […] These were left over from yesterday. […]

Leave a Reply

