• Shameless Self-Promotion:

    Check out The Cinnamon Quill, where I blog about gluten-free baking.







Day 17: Shop the co-op!

Today’s breakfast was slightly different than the past few days:

day16break

Chia pet cereal for breakfast. And it’s mighty good. And even though I’m all about quantity, a single serving of this is amazingly filling. Trust me; I was majorly skeptical, but pleasantly surprised.

Lunch:

day16souplun

I was invited to lunch and presented with a gorgeous salad (oops, no photo), and this soup. Unfortunately, this photo is a bowl of the soup I reheated post-lunch, and the reheated version isn’t nearly as vibrant as the original product. The recipe is from Deborah Madison’s Local Flavors cookbook, and I believe this is the recipe. I was lucky enough to take some of this soup home and promptly heated up a bowl, added a spoonful of red quinoa (since it I needed to use it up), and enjoyed it with some Mary’s Gone Crackers. They were $1.50 at the co-op. Oh yeah; MAKE THIS SOUP.

Let’s shop:

day16shop

day16veg

I could spend hours photographing kale. It is that beautiful. It looks like arctic green ruffles. Am I the only one who admires kale?

day16shopp

day16shop2

Dinner:

day16dinner

‘Tortilla Casserole’ from Sundays at Moosewood. I found the recipe here. I always change it around a bit; my favorite way to bake it is either in an iron skillet, or a ceramic tart pan. Sometimes I use salsa, this time I used farmer’s market heirloom tomatoes. I change around the cheese choices a bit as well; this time it was Asiago.

Tortilla Casserole
from Sundays at Moosewood

1 medium onion, chopped ½ pint heavy cream
1 garlic clove, minced 1/3 c grated Parmesan
¾ t dried oregano s & p to taste
3 T veg oil 10 6” corn tortillas
3 medium tomatoes, chopped ½ c grated Monterey Jack cheese

in a large skillet, satue onion, garlic, and oregano in oil for 5-10 minutes, until onions are translucent. Stir in chopped tomatoes, cover, and simmer about 5 minutes, until the tomatoes are soft and juicy.
Cut tortillas into 1/2” wide strips and stir into the vegetable mixture with the cream, Parmesan, and s&p.
Bake, uncovered, at 375F in a buttered 1 qt. casserole for 30 min. Top with grated Mont’y Jack and return to oven until cheese is totally melted.

(Source)

Cookies, sugarful

day16almond

These are based on the this recipe that is apparently from ‘Paradise Bakery’. All I can say is that they are absolutely full of sugar and refined ‘goodness’. I halved the recipe and used all butter in place of the shortening. I also usually used nearly 1.5 times++ the amount of flour. I’ve tried these with various flour mixes, and the main difference is that I usually have to use a slightly different amount. I haven’t finalized the recipe, but it’s a good one to experiment with. The other reason I use so much more flour is because I like to roll them out. This time I used about 1/2 brown sugar for a more golden color. But a few of these and you are over the edge, sugar-wise, they are white-carb-full!

Leave a Reply

